Caffeinated

Today was one of those days where I could not get myself going, starting with with iPhone that I brilliantly programmed to wake me up at 4:40 am. Instead of forcing my eyes open, I turned the thing off, rolled over, and immediately went back to sleep until 6:30 am. Unfortunately, sleeping in means no workout today, but hey! – my calf was sore anyway, so, um, that worked out… this time, anyway.

You’d think that two extra hours of sleep would make an exorbitant difference, but wrong! It took about three mugs of jasmine tea this morning for me to realize that it wasn’t working. So I went from this:

To this:

To the right of the tea is my weekend friend: coffee. Luckily there was one cup left in the pot that my fiance didn’t need to drink, so I snatched that stuff up. And chugged it. And walked around wide-eyed, alert, and infinitely more talkative. I’m sure if you were here, you’d find me prime company.

In an unrelated note, I did take advantage of my … energetic levels to do something to help me with my goal of eating smaller but more frequent meals: food prep! In my history of healthy eating, I was the most successful when I had all my meals prepped and portioned out ahead of time. While today’s prep only involved my dessert, it immediately helped me to eat smaller during dinner time because I knew I had these waiting for me in the fridge:


Okay, so strawberries in Greek yogurt (with vanilla, cinnamon and honey) is not as exciting as cupcakes (dark chocolate with milk chocolate cream cheese frosting anyone?), However, since being wasteful is one of my pet peeves, just knowing that I need to eat this before it goes bad motivates me enough to do what I need to do.

If it works, it works, right? 🙂

EXERCISE LOG

Er, skipped. Tomorrow for sure!

RECAP: 5/19 FOOD LOG

Beverages

  • Jasmine tea: 12oz
  • Water: 101.4 oz

Breakfast

  • 3/4 cup Fage 0% Greek Yogurt
  • Banana
  • 30g Special K Vanilla Almond cereal

Lunch

  • 3/4 pastrami sandwich on rye with sauerkraut
  • 1/2 cup potato salad

Dinner

  • Cereal with banana, strawberries and almond milk
Leave a Reply

