The Pastrami Sandwich That Killed Me

A week or two ago, I made the decision to eat smaller/lighter (but more frequent) meals. The pro? I get to include more of a variety of foods into my diet, which excites me a lot. The con? Present to me an idea of something I like a lot and I tend to lose control.

As the clock approached 12 pm, I started looking at a place fun and exciting near me on Yelp. Now, I do love me a good Reuben (hello Katz and Langers!), so when my eyes settled on endless pictures of hot brisket and pastrami sandwiches, I said HEEEEEYELLL YES!

And so we went to the little deli that’s been around for more than half a century and I ordered this:

That sandwich looks harmless, right? And believe me, it was tasty, but after eating mostly small(er)/light(er) meals for a couple of weeks now, this plate put me over the top. Like, after I got home, I crashed on the couch for a two hour nap (my lack of sleep the night before may or may not have contributed to that), and thereafter swore meat off for at least the rest of the day. I even had to cancel dinner and send my fiance to In-N-Out to feed himself because the thought of meat sounded that bad to me.

Lessons learned today: 1) Small/light lunches only! and 2) Never, ever, ever look for food options on Yelp when hungry.

EXERCISE LOG

2.1 mile walk:

If cake wasn’t on my list of trigger foods, I would request a slice right now as a reward for going to bed at almost midnight and waking up at 4:40 am to workout.

But alas! Life wouldn’t be as fun if I could eat all that fun stuff and not succumb to catastrophe.

The walk started out strong, but at about 1.3 miles, my calf started to ache – turns out, I forgot to put on my compression socks. Oops! By 1.5 miles, my calf was definitely achy, though by the time I reached my house, the discomfort was slightly less than how it’s been when I finished my walk in the last few times. So, improvement maybe? Maybe not? I’m going to workout again tomorrow, so that should tell me.

RECAP: 5/18 FOOD LOG

Beverages

  • Coffee: 12 oz
  • Silk vanilla soy creamer: 1.5 tbsp
  • Water: 101.4 oz

Breakfast

  • Egg white veggie frittata
  • 2 slices wheat toast with butter
  • 1/2 slice white toast with butter
  • 1 cup fruit

Lunch

  • Pan-fried chicken with sauteed vegetables

Dinner

  • 2 bowls of cereal
Leave a Reply

