Early Bird Rejects the Worm

You want to know what’s cruel? Waking up at 4:40 am on a Saturday. It’s one thing to have to get up that early to get ready to leave for a flight to Jamaica, for work to make money to sip colorful drinks with umbrellas and fruit in Jamaica, to work out so that you’ll rock that overpriced bikini you bought at Canyon Beachwear in Jamaica, or for an athletic event that you’ve trained for which may result in you celebrating your bad-assness in Jamaica. Unfortunately, the only reason my alarm went off this morning at 4:40 am had nothing to do with Jamaica.

No, this torture happened because it was time to apply my dog’s flea/tick meds and I have two cats. Long story short, the meds are deadly to cats, so our brilliant plan to coordinate this effort to get the stuff on him and let it dry while he runs like a crazy animal during his early morning hike. Honestly, the stuff is dangerous to kitties only if they lay on the dog which almost never, ever, ever happens no matter how many pouches Whisker Lickins I try to bribe them with. (To them, the dog is just a rude, rude beast who deserves a bat on the nose at least once a week) But to be safe, we opted to sacrifice our sanity on this Saturday morning to keep the dog protected from insects and our cats protected from our dog being protected from insects.

I think the rudest thing of all on my part, however, was that I did not crawl back beneath my snuggly covers after my fiance and the dog left for the hike. Nope! Since I was up and awake, I made the bed, started my pot for tea, sat down in front of my computer, and started this blog. Stupid-adult-thing-where-once-you-are-up-you-are-up.

On a positive note, I believe my problems with going to bed at a decent time, at least for tonight, will be solved.

EXERCISE LOG

I tapped into my inner 90s-ness today and went to my local mall. After walking around aimlessly looking for three things on my list, I realized that: 1) I’m so spoiled by online shopping, and 2) my leg has just a little bit more healing to go. So no walks for me just yet (and definitely no malls), but there will be more squats and planks in my future. 🙂

Other exercise today include walking to dinner and playing with the dog, which mainly consists of me throwing the ball 10,000,000,000,000 times and chasing after balls that get away from me.

FOOD LOG

Beverages

  • Coffee: 12 oz
  • Silk vanilla soy creamer: 1.5 tbsp
  • Jasmine tea: 8 oz
  • Water: 101.4 oz

Breakfast

  • Egg white veggie frittata
  • 2 slices wheat toast with butter
  • 1/2 slice white toast with butter
  • 1 cup fruit

Snack

  • 2 tangerines

Lunch

  • Sushi

Dinner

  • Cereal with almond milk
Leave a Reply

