Strained on Saturday :(

I strained my calf.

BACKGROUND

This all thanks to my fascination with the pistol squat.

In 2012, I was living one of my highest fitness in my life and, as a result of that, checking off fitness bucket list items left and right. I completed my first half-marathon non-stop after a particularly aggressive training schedule that included a ton of hills and speed training, My body was lean yet muscular thanks to hours of strength training, On Saturdays, I’d embark on half-century bike rides because… well, it was Saturday, followed up with eight to ten mile hikes on Sundays. I was fit, and most importantly, very strong, but I also quickly got bored of the routine.

That’s when my plyometric exercises tickled my interest- specifically, box jumps and pistol squats. My butt was very sory for the first while because I kept falling on it, but eventually, I started jumping higher and I could sort of do a pistol squat as long as I held on to something. But then finally, on one spring day, I shocked myself in being able complete a pistol squat independently. It was just on one side – I still needed help when starting on the other foot – but it was enough encouragement to continue.

It took awhile, but finally I was able to complete a pistol squat successfully starting on both legs on consecutive training days – time to celebrate!

Because I was such a fitness nerd, I decided to celebrate my pistol squat success by going outside for a quick run sprinkled with jumping onto curbs and over parking blocks (told you I was a nerd). While out, I mistakened my timing with a car backing up and jumped out of the way to avoid getting hit. That particular action caused my calf to jerk a certain way and that’s when I felt this incredible pain that prevented me from taking another single step.

The most serious injury up to that point in my life I had ever had was plantar fasciitis, so imagine my shock when this pain shot through my lower leg. I crawled home and immediately went to an urgent care center where a doctor experienced in treating professional female basketball players concluded that I tore my calf. No weight on it for at least a month. No running for at least seven months to a year depending on how it heals. Also, the possibility of re-injury is so great that it’s something I have to constantly watch out for should I ever return to running.

PRESENT DAY

I initially felt the strain Thursday night, went I decided to … how do I explain this? … go back into bed without disturbing the cat. Without going into too much detail, let’s just say that I had to do some creative maneuvering to not disturb that spoiled ball of fur too much, and to do that, I had to twist my leg in a certain way and that’s when I felt this … sensation? in the calf I injured two years ago. I didn’t feel it yesterday during my rest day, but then felt it again this morning as I squatted down to grab my sneakers for my walk.

The strain doesn’t feel as serious as the one back then, but I could definitely feel it a little during my little workout. It went away a little, but came back stronger after I came home and squatted down to clean something off the floor.

I know I need to rest my leg, but I can’t help but think that it has something to do with how I squat down? Something to think about, hmm!

On a somewhat unrelated note, the soreness in my legs are 99% gone and even with the slight discomfort in my calf, the finish time of today’s workout ended up being the fastest of all week! Could it be because of the weather or my legs happy to be back on the move?

EXERCISE LOG

Cardio

  • 3 mile walk – 47 minutes (254/210 minutes for the week) <– Hooray!

ST

  • 2 sets of lunges (15 reps each side)
  • 2 sets of plank (60 sec each rep) It was only going to be 30 seconds, but I felt so strong that I doubled it. Squee!

Stretching

  • Forward Bend
  • Down Dog
  • Pretzel

FOOD LOG

Total Water Intake:  101.4+ oz (12.7 glasses)

Pre-Workout Snack

  • 1.5 tbsp soy creamer
  • 12 oz coffee

Breakfast

  • 12 oz coffee
  • cream
  • Sauteed veggie omelette with egg whites
  • 1 bowl of fruit
  • 2 slices wheat toast with butter and jelly
  • 1 slice white toast with butter
  • 1 bite ham

Lunch

  • Rainbow roll
  • Gyoza

Dinner

  • Frosted Flakes cereal
  • Frosted Mini-Wheats cereal
  • Unsweetened vanilla almond milk
Leave a Reply

